Clayton 1977

Jeremiah Rickert Writes: This is probably my favorite David Clayton-Thomas solo album. Most of the songs are Clayton-Thomas originals, and they're really cool cuts, especially "Laying Down Rock and Roll," "Fooled Ya," "Sweet Sixteen," and "Professor Longhair." The guest musicians include both of the Breckers, David Sandborn, and veterans of Lighthouse Bob McBride and Keith Jollimore. A great record! "Laying Down Rock and Roll," would make a great BS&T tune. on Jul 30, 13
Back To The Discography
Back Home

Produced by Jack Richardson

Line Up

David Clayton-Thomas: Lead Vocals

Keyboards: Doug Riley

Drums: Bob Economou

Bass: Neil Stubenhaus

Guitars: Mike Stern

Percussion: Brian Leonard

Banjo: Hank Morris
Bass: Murray Lauder

Trumpet: Randy Brecker

Trumpet: Guido Basso

Trumpet: Arnie Chycoski

Tenor Sax: Michael Brecker

Alto Sax: David Sandborn

Tenor Sax: Steve Kennedy

Alto Sax & Clarinet: Moe Koffman

Alto Sax: David Caldwell

Bari-Sax: Keith Jollimore

Trombone: Barrie Tallman
Trombone: Bob Livingston

French Horn: Richard Berg

Mouth Harp: Jack Zaza

Strings: Dick Armin, Adele Armine, Paul Armin

Background Vocals: Bob McBride, Cal Dodd, Bob Farrar, Sharone Lee Williams, Debbie Fleming, Elaine Overholt, The Richardson Choir.

Track Listing

  1. Laying Down Rock and Roll (3:59) (Clayton-Thomas)

  2. Fooled Ya (4:57) (Clayton-Thomas/Smith)

  3. Homeward Bound (4:03) (Paul Simon)

  4. Sweet Sixteen (4:20) (Clayton-Thomas/Riley)

  5. I’m A Free Man (4:23) (Clayton-Thomas/Riley)

  6. Liberated Girls Don’t Cry (3:02) (Clayton-Thomas/Riley/Smith)

  7. Friday The 13th Child (3:35) (Clayton-Thomas)

  8. Professor Longhair (3:26) (Clayton-Thomas/Smith)

  9. Sugar Comes From Arkansas (3:18) (Clayton-Thomas Riley)

  10. Drown In My Own Tears (6:53)

« »

Comments are closed.