Nuclear Blues 1980

The musical emphasis has mostly shifted, from pop/soul with a jazz flavor to out-and-out fusion jazz, such as "Agitato," and the lengthy and often quite lovely "Spanish Wine" suite, with only an occasional lead vocal (a radically re-arranged cover of Jimi Hendrix's "Manic Depression"). Big exceptions include the title tune... and an impassioned, if relatively straightforward, cover of the old blues standard "I'll Drown In My Own Tears." on Jul 30, 13
Back To The Discography
Back Home

Produced by Jerry Goldstein

Line Up

David Clayton-Thomas: Vocals

Bruce Cassidy: Trumpet. Fluegelhorn, Steiner Electric Trumpet

Bobby Economou: Drums

David Piltch: Bass

Robert Piltch: Electric and Classical Guitar

Earl Seymour: Baritone and Tenor Sax, Flute

Vern Dorge: Alto and Soprano Sax, Flute

William Smith: Background Vocals on “Drown in my Own Tears”

Lonnie Jordan: Background Vocals on “Drown in my Own Tears”

Track Listing

  1. Agitato (5:51)
  2. Nuclear Blues (4:24)

  3. Manic Depression (4:18)

  4. I’ll Drown in my Own Tears (7:21)

  5. Fantasty Stage (5:41)
  6. Suite: Spanish Wine (13:30)

  7. I – Introduction: La Cantina (2:15)

  8. II – Theme: Spanish Wine (1:02)

  9. III – Latin Fire (2:22)

  10. IV – The Challenege (2:15)
  11. V – The Duel (2:20)

  12. VI – Amor (3:16)
  13. VII – Spanish Wine Reprise (1:42)

« »

Comments are closed.