Soul Ballads 2010

David’s 2010 collaboration with Producer Lou Pomanti, "Soul Ballads" has been released in the US on Airplane Records. A heartfelt tribute to the iconic artists that shaped the Clayton-Thomas sound. This powerful and moving production has Pomanti also serving as arranger. Scoring big bold orchestrations for a 35 piece orchestra, he provides a lush musical landscape for that unmistakeable voice. The record is finally getting the recognition it deserves. It is a courageous album. Clayton-Thomas walks a delicate line between honouring the original recordings and singing the song in his own voice. Early reviews confirm that he has succeeded…? "If you enjoy classic soul, I confidently recommend this recording as a great way to get all these classics in one place". "Midnight Train to Georgia," "I've Been Lovin' You Too Long," "People Get Ready," "When Something is Wrong With My Baby" and eight others are performed on this lavish collection”. - The Sun Herald, Pascagoula, Mississippi Soul Ballads is available directly from Airline Records in the US (link) and Maple Music (link) in Canada. on Jul 30, 13
Back To The Discography
Back Home

Produced & Arranged by Lou Pomanti
Executive Producer David Clayton-Thomas
Recorded at Kick Audio and Desert Fish Inc, Toronto, Canada
Mixed at Desert Fish Inc
Recorded and Mixed by Jeff Wolpert
Additional Recording Greg Kolchinsky
Assisted by Sydney Galbraith and Grant McCauley
Mastered by Peter J Moore
Music Preparation by Richard Maslove
Photos: David Deacon

Line Up

Keyboards… Lou Pomanti
Guitars… Bernie LaBarge Jake Langley
Basses… Scott Alexander, George Koller, Rich Brown
Drums… Larnell Lewis, Mark Kelso
Violins… Marie Berard, Adele Armin Riley, Carol Fujino, Drew Jurecka, Csaba Koczo, Rebekah Wolkstein.
Cellos… David Heatherington, Elspeth Poole.
Trumpets… Jason Logue, Dave Dunlop
Saxophones… Pol Coussee, Perry White
Trombone… William Carn
Flugelhorn… Guido Basso
Harmonica… Rolly Platt
Percussion… Rick Lazar
Rique Franks, Karen LeBlanc, Gavin Hope

Track Listing

  1. Midnight Train to Georgia (4:55)
  2. A Change is Gonna Come (3:53)
  3. People Get Ready (3:47)
  4. If You Don’t Know Me By Now (3:23)
  5. Sunny (5:07)
  6. I’ve Been Lovin’ You Too Long (3:01)
  7. Dock of the Bay (3:39)
  8. Ruby (4:26)
  9. When Something Is Wrong with My Baby (3:38)
  10. You Don’t Know Me (3:32)
  11. You Really Got A Hold On Me (4:01)
  12. When a Man Loves a Woman (3:09)

« »

Comments are closed.