David Clayton-Thomas (Columbia) 1972

Review by James Chrispell By the early '70s, Canadian David Clayton-Thomas had decided that enough was enough and split with Blood, Sweat & Tears to go the solo route with 1972's David Clayton-Thomas. Aided and abetted by wide ranges of studio help, including some of his former bandmates, much of what lies within these grooves sounds very much like his old band. It includes "Magnificent Sanctuary Band" and "Sing a Song," and with it sounding so similar to BS&T, one might wonder why Thomas chose the solo route, but by doing so, he is in charge and doesn't have to rely on others to choose which songs he sings. A competent addition to the big-band rock sound so popular in the early and mid-'70s. on Jul 30, 13
Back To The Discography
Back Home

Line Up

David Clayton-Thomas: Vocals, Guitar

Mike Deasy: Guitar (“Magnificent Sanctuary Band,” “Sing a Song,” “Once Burned.”)

Steve Cropper: Guitar (“We’re All Meat From The Same Bone,” “Stealin’ In The Name of the Lord, “North Beach Racetrack.”)

Paul Cannon: Guitar (“We’re All Meat From The Same Bone,” “Stealin’ In The Name of the Lord,” “North Beach Racetrack.”)

Hugh McCracken: Guitar (“Dying To Live,” “She.”)

Joe Osborn: Bass (“Santuary Band,” “Sing a Song,” “Once Burned.”)

Jim Johnson: Bass (“We’re All Meat,” “Stealin’,” “North Beach.”) Drums (“Dying To Live,” “She.”)

Jimmy Lewis: Bass (“Dying To Live,” “She.”)

Russ Svakus: Bass (“Don’t Let It Bring You Down.”)
Andy Munson: Bass (“Caress Me Pretty Music.”)

Larry Knechtel: Piano (“Sanctuary Band,” “Sing a Song,” “Once Burned.”)

Frank Owens: Piano (“Dying To Live,” “She.”)

Dick Halligan: Organ (“We’re All Meat,”)

J. Spell: Keyboards (“Stealin’,” “North Beach Racetrack.”)

Paul Griffin: Piano (“Caress Me Pretty Music.”)

Earl Palmer: Drums (“Sanctuary Band,” “Sing a Song,” “Once Burned.”)

Richie Simpson: Drums (“We’re All Meat,” “Stealin’,” “North Beach Racetrack.”)

Bobby Colomby: Drums (“Don’t Let It Bring You Down, “Caress Me Pretty Music.”) Tambourine (“We’re All Meat.”)

King Errisson: Percussion (“Sanctuary Band,” “Sing a Song,” “Once Burned.”)

Ollie Mitchell: Piccolo Trumpet (“Sanctuary Band.”) Fluegelhorn (“Once Burned.”)

Johnny Rialto: Piccolo Trumpet (“Sanctuary Band.”)
Bill Watrous: Trombone (“Don’t Let It Bring You Down.”)

Garnett Brown: Trombone (“Don’t Let It Bring You Down.”)

Dave Bargeron: Trombone (“Don’t Let It Bring You Down.”)

Joe Farrell: Alto Sax (“Caress Me Pretty Music.”)

Jimmy Guiffre: Tenor Sax (“Caress Me Pretty Music.”)

Track Listing

  1. Magnificent Sanctuary Band (3:30) (D. Burnette)

  2. We’re All Meat From the Same Bone (1:47) (G. Zekley/M. Bottier)

  3. Stealin’ In The Name of the Lord (2:45) (P. Kelley)

  4. Dying To Live (4:36) (E. Winter)

  5. Sing A Song (2:47) (G. Wright)

  6. She (4:47) (G. Parsons/C. Etheridge)
  7. Don’t Let It Bring You Down (3:40) (N. Young)

  8. Once Burned (3:27) (T. Rundgren)
  9. North Beach Racetrack (3:05) (D. Clayton-Thomas)

  10. Caress Me Pretty Music (3:25) (A. O’Day)

« »

Comments are closed.